The MPs in our region (all Conservatives) who voted to ALLOW raw sewage dumping…and those who voted against

“Lords’ Amendment 45 to the Environment Bill would have placed a legal duty on water companies in England and Wales “to make improvements to their sewerage systems and demonstrate progressive reductions in the harm caused by discharges of untreated sewage.”

“Despite the horrendous environmental impact of the disgusting practice, shortly before the vote, the Conservative Environment Secretary George Eustice recommended to his fellow MPs that they should reject it.”

“And, owing largely to the government’s 80 seat majority, the amendment was indeed defeated – by a margin of 268 MPs to 204.”


With thanks to Evolve, who compiled the list of all the MPs (all Conservatives). We have extracted those in our region. These men and women thnk it’s fine to dump raw sewage in our rivers.

Steve Double – St Austell

George Eustice – Camborne and Redruth

Liam Fox – North Somerset

Marcus Fysh – Yeovil

James Heappey – Wells

Simon Jupp – East Devon

Chris Loder – West Dorset

Cherilyn Mackrory – Truro and Falmouth

Anthony Mangnall – Totnes

Scott Mann – North Cornwall

Anne Marie Morris – Newton Abbot

Sheryll Murray – South East Cornwall

Neil Parish – Tiverton and Honiton

John Penrose – Weston-super-Mare

Rebecca Powe – Taunton Deane

Jacob Rees-Mogg – North East Somerset

Selaine Saxby – North Devon

Gary Streeter – South West Devon

Mel Stride – Central Devon

Robert Syms – Poole

Michael Tomlinson – Mid Dorset and North Poole

David Warburton – Somerton and Frome

And those who voted AGAINST raw sewage dumping:

Ben Bradshaw, Labour – Exeter

Simon Hoare, Conservative – North Dorset

Luke Pollard, Labour – Plymouth Sutton and Devonport

Derek Thomas, Conservative – St Ives

If you do not see your MP’s name, they did not vote.

Is this how divergence from the EU is to be defined? In filth? In poisoned water?

The dirty man of Europe is busily re-establishing his grubby reputation. It didn’t have to be this way.